The Woman in the Mirror by Rebecca James

1250230055

For more than two centuries, Winterbourne Hall has stood atop a bluff overseeing the English countryside of Cornwall and the sea beyond.

In 1947, Londoner Alice Miller accepts a post as governess at Winterbourne, looking after Captain Jonathan de Grey’s twin children. Falling under the de Greys’ spell, Alice believes the family will heal her own past sorrows. But then the twins’ adoration becomes deceitful and taunting. Their father, ever distant, turns spiteful and cruel. The manor itself seems to lash out. Alice finds her surroundings subtly altered, her air slightly chilled. Something malicious resents her presence, something clouding her senses and threatening her very sanity.

In present day New York, art gallery curator Rachel Wright has learned she is a descendant of the de Greys and heir to Winterbourne. Adopted as an infant, she never knew her birth parents or her lineage. At long last, Rachel will find answers to questions about her identity that have haunted her entire life. But what she finds in Cornwall is a devastating tragic legacy that has afflicted generations of de Greys. A legacy borne from greed and deceit, twisted by madness, and suffused with unrequited love and unequivocal rage

*****

Thank you, Minotaur Books, for my copy of The Woman in the Mirror, in exchange for my honest review.  This title published March 17, 2020.

SPOILER ALERT: I loved this one!

It’s no secret that I’m a huge thriller fan – but throw in some gothic eerie vibes and a family legacy of secrets and lies and, you got yourself a pretty damn good book!  I was hooked right from the first page.

The story alternates between present day and the late 1940s and is told from the perspectives of two women – modern day Rachel Wright, New Yorker and 1940s Alice Miller, countryside Englander.  With almost a century between them, I couldn’t believe how well this author spun the connection between them.  I won’t give away too much of the plot (the summary above does a pretty great job), but I will say that this was a well written tale that will give you goosebumps while reading.

I especially loved how well written the description of the De Grey estate (Winterbourne) was, as the author took her characters from room to room and on the grounds.  I literally felt like I was at Winterbourne myself while reading – her writing was that good.  For me, Winterbourne felt like a character all on its own – with its eery presence.

This was a slower burn (than my usual thriller reads) as the foundation was being laid for the story, but once it picks up steam this was a hard one to put down.  I flew threw it after hitting the halfway mark.

This was my first gothic thriller (with some historical fiction) and I already want more!  I think this will be a great choice for fans of Ruth Ware’s The Death of Mrs. Westaway and The Haunting of Hill House.  I highly recommend adding this one to your TBR this Spring.

My Rating: 5/5

Happy Reading,
The Reading Beauty

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.